Buttercream Ruffle Cake

I previously did a pleated ruffle cake, where the ruffles go in a straight line up the sides of the cake. But I also saw this amazing cake, demonstrated by Cake Style, and I knew I had to try it.

This is another 6″ cake with the popular devil’s food cake. It’s an easy recipe to whip out when I want to really focus on the icing rather than the cake itself.

For the ruffles I chose a soft blue, because I knew what the pink looked like from the tutorial and I wanted to try something new and see how the different colours look in a ruffle pattern.

I didn’t entirely follow the lines that I etched into the side of the cake, as I realized that I’d spaced them a little too far apart and wanted smaller ruffles. This made my ruffles a little less uniform than I’d like, but then again, that was the point of doing a test cake in the first place, so next time I know that I want to measure out the ruffles a little better next time.

This is one of those patterns that is deceptively straightforward, so there isn’t too much to say about the design.  I think this cake is best spoken for in pictures:

IMG_20160403_210853264[1].jpg

I’ll finish off with a close up of the ruffle. I learned that this is a pattern best not rushed, as the ruffles that I piped more quickly ended up looking messier in the end. But overall, I’m quite pleased with how this cake turned out, and what makes it even better is how thick the buttercream layer ends up. If you’re one of those people who loves piling your cakes and cupcakes high with icing, this is definitely the cake for you.

IMG_20160403_210839805_HDR[1].jpg

Leave a Reply

