Sprinkle Topped Rosette Cake

I was going to make this cake entirely covered in sprinkles, but when I looked at tutorials, they mostly called for 1kg of sprinkles, and that’s just not an amount I usually have on hand. I decided instead to cover just the top in sprinkles, then do a colourful rosette pattern on the sides to pull out some of the colours in the sprinkles.

I chose another 6″ dark chocolate cake, which I cut into three layers. I really wish I’d taken a picture of the inside of this cake; my ability to cut and layer evenly has improved by leaps and bounds in the last month. Unfortunately, you’ll just have to take me on my word that these are the most even layers and icing that I’ve produced in a cake so far.

For some added sprinkle action, I mixed sprinkles into my vanilla buttercream to layer the inside of this cake, then did a crumb coat and top layer in white. Before this set, I placed a small pile of sprinkles on top of the cake and smoothed out the sprinkles to the sides. This took a few tries before the top was evenly covered, and sprinkles went EVERYWHERE. I’d definitely recommend placing the cake on a baking sheet or roasting pan before doing this to trap the rogue sprinkles that fly off the sides.

IMG_20160420_240347507.jpg
Check out that sweet, sweet sprinkle coverage.

While my crumb coat was setting in the fridge, I divided my remaining icing into three even batches and coloured two of them (using sky blue in one and deep pink for the other, both by Americolour). I chose bring pink and blue to pick up on colours in the sprinkles. I fit a star tip into my piping bag, then spread each colour along one side of the bag to produce a three- toned effect.

The rosette pattern was relatively easy after that: place a dot, swirl around, and release pressure. The last time I did a rosette cake I accidentally switched directions between rows, so I tried to keep a consistent direction for this cake.

IMG_20160420_240319402.jpg

I actually got to eat this cake, so I can confirm it was delicious. The only downside was that the food colouring dyed your lips and tongue blue, so everyone who ate it looked a bit silly. I’d say that’s a small price to pay for eating cake – it’s certainly a trade-off I’m willing to take!

Leave a Reply

