Happy (Belated) Mother’s Day!

I haven’t been as good about posting recently because my laptop has been out for repairs, and it turns out it’s pretty difficult to write a lot of blog posts on a phone (editing is a bit of a nightmare!). Luckily my laptop is back today, so hopefully I’ll be back posting with greater frequency.

I had some leftover dough from a small sugar cookie order, so I decided to make a few mother’s day cookies to bring to my mom this weekend. It was a great way to use up the dough and the timing worked out perfectly.

To start, I made large and small hearts, as well as some scalloped circles.

I’ve been toying with the idea of using natural food dyes (I just ordered some matcha, or green tea powder, to try some green tea cookies), so I tinted this a pinkish mauve using juice from frozen raspberries. It isn’t quite enough juice to add a raspberry flavour, but I had to stop adding it for fear or making my icing too runny.

The design on these was fairly simple. On the large cookies, I just flooded with the pink icing. On the smaller cookies, I used my food colour pen to write ‘love’ and ‘mom’.

IMG_20160502_232129.jpg

The round cookies were a little more interesting. For these, I made some garden cookies. First, I flooded with brown icing (the Americolour Chocolate Brown is so spot on that my boyfriend asked if my icing was, in fact, chocolate). Once the icing wad slightly firm, I tinted some icing green and piped leaves onto the center. I couldn’t find my leaf tip, so I cut a slit in a Ziploc bags, and it worked out really well. It’s good to know how to do some of these designs without the piping tips, just in case.

IMG_20160502_231648349.jpg

After doing so many kilts, it was nice to go back to something simple! And it was great to have lots of cookies to send home to my mom and to my boyfriend’s mom as well.

As a bonus, I used a chicken shaped cookie cutter that my friend gave me, just for some fun! I kept this simple with just a little orange on the beak and a few details in food colour pen.

IMG_20160503_133313

I also wanted to try out some painted on roses, so I used a very faint blue to paint two small circles on a cookie, then brushed on the rose petals in a deeper blue. A thin line of green and a few leaves really finished off this look:

IMG_20160503_101944222

That’s it for my mother’s day cookies. I hope you all had a great mother’s day too!

Leave a Reply

